love foodies

Foodies hanging out together

Delicious Chinese New Year Cake – Nin Gao

5 Comments

How to make Chinese New Year Cake – Nin Gao

nin gao

Chinese New Year cake, or Nin Gao (pronounced ‘Neen go’) is eaten at Chinese New Year of course! It has always been a favourite with my family when growing up as a child, quick and easy to make, and super tasty. If you haven’t tried it before, I think the texture will be something new to you. It’s a cake that is made a few days leading up to Chinese New Year, and then it can be stored in the fridge and eaten as and when you get the desire. It is usually cut into slices about 1cm thick, coated in beaten egg and then lightly fried until soft. Once cooked in egg, this is where you may get an unusual texture sensation. First you get a crispy, crunchy texture from the egg coating the cake, then you get a sweet chewy, almost toffee texture once you start chewing. It’s a bit like eating chewing gum, only the cake breaks down in your mouth whereas chewing gum does not.

Admittedly, it is not for anyone on a diet! There is a lot of sugar, and the use of glutinous rice flour also contributes to the calories, but as a celebration cake to be eaten once a year, I think indulgence is ok!

Please come and see the recipe here!

 

            

           

       

 

 

5 thoughts on “Delicious Chinese New Year Cake – Nin Gao

  1. Pingback: Ma Lai Go-Chinese Steamed Cake | love foodies

  2. Looking forward to this as my mum makes them every year. I love it cut really thinly and fried til they are extra crispy! Never tried it with egg though. Will do so this year… 🙂

  3. me too!!! I am following your blog now, and I was reading you are from Manchester, I used to live in Yorkshire many years ago and would go to Manchester to celebrate CNY in China Town, I loved it!!! Now I live in Holland, so it’s a little far to travel, but I know you will have a great time in your city!

Leave a Reply

